Alan Issac elected ICC president for two year term

Alan Issac elected ICC president for two year termKuala Lumpur: Alan Isaac, the former Chairman of New Zealand Cricket, has been elected as the eighth President of the International Cricket Council (ICC) for a two year term. The decision was taken at the ICC Annual Conference in Kuala Lumpur here today said an official press release.

Isaac who succeeded India’s Sharad Pawar to the post after being elected said, “When I look at the list of previous Presidents, I am reminded of the importance of this office. In the midst of my pride at being chosen as President, I recognise that there is, of course, much hard work and much progress needed if we are to maintain the game’s current healthy state. I believe that the challenges ahead are no less daunting than those we have faced in the last two years if we are to maintain the vibrancy and viability of the three formats of the sport.”

He said that cricket is indeed a fortunate sport to have three different formats and ICC would strive not only to preserve those formats but to build on their foundations.

“I look forward to serving the game with honesty and integrity and to the best of my ability. I look forward to handing on the guardianship of the sport with the game enjoying even greater health,” he added.

David Richardson was confirmed by the conference as the successor to Haroon Lorgat, who stood down after four years, as the ICC Chief Executive. Richardson, who played 42 Tests for South Africa and has been ICC’s General Manager- Cricket for the last 10 years.

“It is a real honour to be confirmed as the ICC Chief Executive and I want to pay tribute to Haroon Lorgat. I have learnt much in the last four years and I inherit a game in great health with much to be optimistic about. I look forward to building on that and tackling the challenges ahead,” said David.

Meanwhile it was also decided in the conference that Russia and Hungary were confirmed as new Affiliate members of the ICC.  Switzerland was removed as an Affiliate member after having been suspended at the 2011 Annual Conference for failing to comply with the ICC’s membership criteria and remaining unable to do so by the 2012 Annual Conference.  There are now 106 Members of the ICC.

By Indian Sports News Network