IPL: Explosive Warner blows away Deccan Chargers

IPL: Explosive Warner blows away Deccan ChargersHyderabad: A destructive innings from the explosive Australian opener David Warner helped Delhi Daredevils defeat Deccan Chargers by nine wickets with more than three over to spare in the ongoing Indian Premier League. Delhi was chasing a stiff total of 187 runs set by Deccan.

Naman Ojha who was involved in a 189 runs partnership with Warner finished the match in style, hitting Sudhindra straight over his head for a six. Delhi lost the wicket of their captain Virender Sehwag on the second delivery of the day when he tried to hit Shikhar Dhawan over extra cover and was brilliantly caught by Cameron White.

David Warner who is just playing his second game of the season started his innings beautifully and hit some fabulous boundaries in the opening six overs. He was ably supported by Ojha (64*) who made sure that the Aussie opener gets the maximum strike in the field restriction. Watson who made an unbeaten 109 hit a total number of 10 boundaries and cleared the ropes seven times. He dominated all the bowlers who came his way and played at a fantastic strike rate of 201.

Ojha on the other end started his innings cautiously and launched the attack with Warner after the 10 over mark. His innings included two fours and five massive sixes. Delhi with the win goes to the top of the points table once again.     

Earlier, Deccan Chargers won the toss and elected to bat first. They strengthen their batting with the inclusion of JP Duminy. It was the first time when Deccan’s all four international players were batsmen and the idea behind that would have been to put up a big total in front of the strong Delhi batting line-up.

Their start however was not good as both Dhawan and Daniel Harris started the innings slowly and the first four overs didn’t yielded many runs. Delhi got their first wicket when Morne Morkel scalped Daniel Harris’s wicket and became the holder of the purple cap. The fall of wicket brought captain Kumar Sangakkara on the pitch. Sangakkara couldn’t do much and gave a simple catch to Nadeem of the bowling of Varun Aaron.

Cameron White then joined Dhawan and two of the in-form batsmen from Deccan took the innings forward. Dhawan who has been the most consistent batsmen for Deccan Chargers took the attack to the bowlers after the fall of his captain’s wicket and upped the run-rate. He played some tremendous strokes in his innings and he was punished the young left-armer Nadeem. White on the other end rotated the strike beautifully and played shots whenever a bad delivery was bowled t him.

Dhawan and White were involved in a 126 runs partnership and took Deccan’s stroke past the 150 mark. Dhawan was looking good to score a century but he misjudged a couple and was run out at the score of 84 which included nine boundaries and five sixes. White on the other end carried on and hit some breath-taking shots. He scored 65 runs before getting out trying to play a pull shot of Aaron. JP Duminy hit the last two balls of the innings for fours to take the total to 187 runs. 

For Daredevils, Aaron was impressive with his figures of 4-0-30-2. Morkel claimed one for 32. Pathan was expensive with 46 runs in his four overs.

Deccan Chargers:
Daniel Harris c Jayawardene b Morkel    19
Shikhar Dhawan run out (Nadeem)    84
Kumar Sangakkara c Nadeem b Aaron 4
Cameron White    c Ojha b Aaron    65
Jean Paul Duminy not out 13
Parthiv Patel not out 0
Extras (lb 1, w 1) 2   
Total (for four wickets in 20 overs) 187

Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Harris, 4.5 overs), 2-33 (Sangakkara, 5.5), 3-159 (Dhawan, 17.3), 4-179 (White, 19.4)

Andre Russell 4-0-39-0
Irfan Pathan    4-0-46-0
Morne Morkel    4-0-32-1
Varun Aaron 4-0-30-2
Shahbaz Nadeem 4-0-39-0

Delhi Daredevils:
Virender Sehwag c White b Dhawan    4
David Warner    not out 109
Naman Ojha not out 64
Extras (b 4, lb 8, w 2, nb 2) 16   
Total (for one wicket in 16.4 overs)    193

Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Sehwag, 0.2 overs)

Shikhar Dhawan 2-0-27-1
T.P. Sudhindra     3.4-0-43-0
Manpreet Gony    4-0-22-0
Ashish Reddy    2-0-29-0
Amit Mishra 4-0-44-0
Ankit Sharma 1-0-16-0

Toss: Deccan Chargers, who chose to bat
Result: Daredevils won by nine wickets
Player of the match: David Warner (Daredevils)
Umpires: Johan Cloete (South Africa) and Simon Taufel (Australia)
TV umpire: S. Ravi
Match referee: Javagal Srinath