Patole, Shaikh win Fan Shooting Championships

Tirthanand ,Imtiyaz clinch Fan Shooting Championships Pune: Imtiaz Shaikh and Tirthanand Patole took the top honours in the Fan Championship categories on the concluding day of the SEED Gun for Glory Shooting Championship here at the Shiv-Chattrapati Shooting Range, Balewadi, on Tuesday.

Given the increasing popularity of the sport in recent years with Indian shooters winning medals regularly in the past three Olympic Games since 2004, the organizers of the SEED Gun for Glory Shooting Championship introduced the Fan Championship to give opportunity to first-timers.

In the duelling category, Tirthanand Patole was ban on target to win the first position while Amitabh Chaturvedi finished runners-up. In the precision category, Imtiyaz Shaikh scored 42.7 out of 50 points while his nearest rival Deepak Kadam scored 39.8 points to take the second spot.

The winners of both the categories in the Fan Championship were awarded with Walther Air Rifle AR 20 and a real 10 gram Gold Medal and shooting apparel kits from Pune Police Commissionaire, Mr Gulabrao Pol, and Sanjay Kakade Group MD, Mr Vikram Kakade. The runners-up received real 10 gram Silver Medal.

Also present on the concluding day of the exciting SEED Gun for Glory Shooting Championship occasion were Olympic medal winner Gagan Narang, Gun for Glory Shooting Academy Director, Pawan Singh and the representatives of the sponsors.

By Indian Sports News Network