HIL 2016: Kalinga Lancers defeat Dabang Mumbai 4-2 to register their first win

Kalinga Lancers vs Dabang Mumbai Hockey India League 2016Bhubaneshwar: In a fiercely fought battle today at the Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneshwar, Kalinga Lancers under the captaincy of German star Moritz Fuerste played exceptional hockey to defeat Dabang Mumbai 4-2. The home team came from behind to strike two beautiful field goals through experienced Glen Turner and Adam Dixon registering their first win in the 4th Coal India Hockey India League. With this win Kalinga Lancers now move up to the second spot on the points table with six points to their kitty.

The match began on an attacking note, with both the teams pressing hard to score. The home team however seemed to have an upper hand in circle penetrations in the first half as compared to the visitors. However some beautiful saves from Dabang Mumbai’s Goalkeeper and a strong defence line of the Kalinga Lancers prevented any goals from either sides. The first two quarters finished without any goals being scored.

The third quarter began on a similar note, with both the teams playing an attacking game. However it was in the 35th minute when Dabang Mumbai converted their first goal through star forward Florian Fuchs giving the visitors the much wanted lead of 2-0. Kalinga Lancers fought back immediately for an equaliser in the 45th minute from Adam Dixon. The fourth quarter began with the Kalinga Lancers fierce attack on the visiting Dabang Mumbai team, and their hard work was duly rewarded through a clever strike from Glen Turner in the 51st minute giving the hosts a much deserved lead of 4-2. The Kalinga Lancers held on to their lead beautifully for rest of the match registering their first win in the 4th Coal India Hockey India League 2016.

The Coal India Goal of the Match award of INR 50,000 was presented by Mr. RK Jha, GM, Welfare MCL, to Glenn Turner of Kalinga Lancers, while Jeremy Hayward from Dabang Mumbai won the Most Entertaining Player of the Match award. Kalinga Lancers Captain Moritz Fuerste walked away with the Man of the Match award of INR 50,000 while Dabang Mumbai’s Harmanpreet Singh won the INR 25,000 Hero Emerging Player of the Match award.