Lahiri arrives with different perspective at WGC-HSBC Champions

ANIRBAN LAHIRI KHON KAEN 281114 002Shanghai: India’s Anirban Lahiri has adopted a different perspective towards his title ambitions at the WGC-HSBC Champions which starts on Thursday.

Just 12 months ago, the Indian was playing in his first World Golf Championship at the Sheshan International Golf Club. But fast forward to this week, he is arriving at Asia’s richest tournament with a sensational season to remember.

The seven-time Asian Tour winner has virtually sealed the Order of Merit title and enjoyed two more Tour wins in Malaysia and India earlier in the year.

He posted a top-five finish at the PGA Championship, earned his PGA TOUR card and also became the first Indian to feature in The Presidents Cup last month.

“Obviously my focus has changed over the last few years. Last year when I was here, it was very important for me to play well in this event because it was one of my first WGCs, and I was playing here for the first time.

“I’ve come back 12 months later having played every other WGC, won twice, got my card in America, and suddenly this event becomes critical for me in terms of how I reshuffle my schedule for America and my world rankings going into the end of the year,” said Lahiri.

Lahiri finished tied 28th at the WGC-HSBC Champions last year but with the merit title almost in his hands, he is channelling his energy towards producing another fine showing- one that reinforces his status as one of Asia’s best players

“I'm really happy with the position I'm in. Having finished third and second the last two years, it would be great to get over the line.

“It looks likely right now but it would be a wonderful thing when and if that happens. I’m feeling positive and mentally there's no lack of motivation as there's a lot to play for,” said Lahiri.

The WGC-HSBC Champions will feature close to 40 of the world’s top 50 players including world number two Jordan Spieth, world number three Rory McIlroy, and fellow top 10 stars Rickie Fowler (5) and Henrik Stenson (7) as well as defending champion Bubba Watson (4).