India's Test squad against South Africa: Rohit Sharma, Shubham Gill in, KL Rahul out

Rohit Sharma Ind vs PakNew Delhi: Rohit Sharma and Shubham Gill have been included in the India's Test squad while out-of-form batsman KL Rahul was left out as Chief selector MSK Prasad announced the team for the three-match South Afrca series, starting in October.

Prasad insisted Sharma will get a fair run as a Test opener starting with the home series against South Africa. "Yes, we are definitely looking (at Rohit) as an opener, and we want to give him an opportunity. He is keen, and all of us in the selection committee are keen too. We want to push him, and give him some opportunities up the order, and see where he stands, and then we will take a call. He will get a fair run.”

"He has been opening in white-ball cricket for more than a decade. We feel he has the capability to bat up the order, we have seen that in white-ball cricket, and if he can do that in red-ball cricket, then nothing like it. We have a lot of practice matches coming up, which will be a boost to this side," said Prasad.

South Africa’s Tour of India -2019 (Test Match series)

1st Test, 09:30 IST, October 2-6, ACA-VDCA Stadium, Visakhapatnam;

2nd Test, 09:30 IST, October 10-14, Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune;

3rd Test, 09:30 IST, October 19-23, JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi

India’s squad for 3 Tests: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (Wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill