India's tour to West Indies: Kohli to lead Team India; Pandya, Bumrah rested for limited overs series

Virat Kohli ICC EngVirat Kohli will lead Team India for the Test, ODI and T20I series in West Indies, starting on August 3, while both Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested for the limited overs series.

Meanwhile, MS Dhoni was not a part of ODI or T20 as he had made himself unavailable for the next two months as he will be serving his regiment in paramilitary forces.

Shreyas Iyer and Manish Pandey have made a comeback to both ODI as well as T20I squad while Navdeep Saini got his first limited overs call-up. Shikhar Dhawan too has been included in the ODI and T20I teams after suffering an injury during World Cup 2019.

Meanwhile, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Hanuma Vihari and Umesh Yadav have also made a return to the Test squad. Rookie leg-spinner Rahul Chahar is the only new face across three formats for the upcoming tour of the West Indies, while young Rishab Pant has emerged as the first choice wicket-keeper in all the three formats.

Announcing the team on Sunday,  the Board of Control For Cricket in India (BCCI) chief selector MSK Prasad said Rishabh Pant will be groomed as India’s first choice keeper across formats in the coming days.

“Retirement is purely individual decision. A legendary cricketer like Dhoni knows when to retire. What is the future course of action, that is in the hands of the selection committee. I don’t think we need to discuss anything more on it. First of all he is not available. Second, we have already started grooming youngsters,” Prasad said at the media conference.