Walking down the memory lane: Know Cricket World Cup's past champions

745803 icc cricket world cup cs 8The greatest cricket competition on the planet is just around the corner as the first round of the World Cup starts from May 30. Hosts England are all set to play the opening clash against South Africa.

Each team is caught up in an attempt to ideate the unfathomable strategies to bring home the most sought after crown of World Champions. While the perpetual favourites are England, Australia, South Africa, Pakistan, and India, there are a few teams like West Indies and Afghanistan who can jump up an astonishment which is what makes World Cup 2019 such an anticipated tournament.

The first World Cup was played in England in June 1975 where West Indies was triumphant. There have been 10 editions of the competition that have occurred after that, with Australia turning out be the most successful team in the history with 5 wins. So before the twelfth edition finds its winner, how about we investigate all the past champs of the cup.

  1. World Cup 1975 (Winners-West Indies)- There were just eight teams that took part in the first World Cup. South Africa was prohibited from worldwide cricket because of politically-sanctioned racial segregation and did not partake. The incomparable West Indian team comprising of Roy Fredricks, Alvin Kallicharan and captained by Clive Lloyd won the competition when they crushed Australia by 17 runs at the iconic Lord's Stadium.
  1. World Cup 1979 (Winners-West Indies)- The Windies carried forward with its strength in world cricket when they won the World Cup twice in a row. The matches were played in the 60 overs for each team format and were played in conventional white dressing and with red balls. Gordon Greenidge and Viv Richards were the stars of the competition as they scored 253 and 217 runs respectively.
  1. World Cup 1983 (Winners-India)- Team India of the 83 world Cup stunned the world as they won their first World Cup by beating the favourites West Indies by 43 runs. Kapil Dev was the leader of the memorable team and he performed a captain's job to perfection to emerge as India's top-scorer in the competition with 303 runs. Kapil Dev's match winning catch in the finals is a part of folklore.
  1. World Cup 1987 (Winners-Australia)- India and Pakistan were hosting the teams while the matches were decreased from 60 to 50 overs for each innings. Australia won their first World Cup as they vanquished England by 7 runs in the finals. This was the closest finals by margin of victory until then.
  1. World Cup 1992 (Winners-Pakistan)- It was a memorable World Cup with respect to the first run through ever shaded apparel, white balls, day/night matches, and a change to the handling confinement rules were presented. Pakistan turned into the third straight first-time champions when they defeated England by 22 runs in the final of the competition.
  1. World Cup 1996 (Winners-Sri Lanka)- This World Cup is for the most part recalled by the Indian fans for the repulsive scenes in the semi-final against Sri Lanka, where victory was granted to the Islanders after crowd turmoil broke out against the Indian team's poor performance . Sri Lanka exploited the circumstance as they won their maiden title by crushing Australia by seven wickets in the finals at Lahore.
  1. World Cup 1999 (Winners-Australia)- This version saw a notable snapshot of brain fade when a horrible mistake between South African batsmen Lance Klusener and Allan Donald saw Australia enter the final on the ethicalness of a superior position in the group stages, hence getting the tag of chokers. At that point in the final, Australia frolicked home to their second World Cup title as they limited Pakistan to 132 and afterward achieved the target in under 20 overs- one of the most comprehensive victories.
  1. World Cup 2003 (Winners-Australia)- Australia's global dominance in World Cricket proceeded as they won their third crown in 2003. Australia by in large dominated the finals as they made 359 runs for the loss of two wickets, the biggest ever total in a final. Australia restricted India to only 234 to win the final by 125 runs.
  1. World Cup 2007 (Winners-Australia)- It was the first main trophy that saw the participation of sixteen teams. It was Australia again who turned into the first group in history to win three straight World Cups. They were confronting Sri Lanka in the final yet chased down their total of 215/8 inside 38 overs. Pakistani mentor Bob Woolmer was discovered dead in his lodging in this edition after his team's lost to Ireland.
  1. World Cup 2011 (Winners-India)- The number of teams that took part in the competition was decreased to fourteen. India became the first team in history to win a World Cup on home ground when they vanquished Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the finals in Mumbai. Yuvraj Singh was the man of the tournament for his breathtaking presentation with both bat and ball.
  1. World Cup 2015 (Winners-Australia)- Australia became the second team after India to win the competition on home soil. New Zealand qualified for their first-since forever World Cup final yet they were thoroughly beaten by seven wickets in the finals at Melbourne by Australia.