10Cric IPL

Champions Trophy: Mini World Cup is back!

Mini World cup is back!!!!!!England/Wales: The 8th edition of Champions Trophy is going to start from June 21 in England. The top eight teams in ICC World ODI rankings will be vying for the top honours in the tournament. It is the second biggest trophy after the World Cup.

Let's look at the facts and figures about Champions Trophy:

  • West Indies, the current T 20 World Cup champions, will be missing out in action.
  • Champion’s trophy started in 1998 in the name of 'Knockout Tournament'. The first tournament was held in Bangladesh and South Africa lifted the Trophy.
  • In 2002, the Knockout Tournament changed to Champions Trophy, which India and Sri Lanka won jointly.
  • During 2002-04 associate countries were allowed to participate in it. But after that ICC changed the rules and the only top eight teams in the ICC rankings get entry for the tournament.
  • When Champions trophy was started, it was held after every two years. In 2008, the Champions Trophy was to be held in Pakistan, but due to security reasons, it was re-scheduled to be held in South Africa in 2009. Thereafter, the ICC took a decision to conduct Champions Trophy after every four years.
  • In 2013, India lifted the Trophy defeating England in the final under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.
  • ICC had taken a decision to stop the Champions Trophy and replace it with World Test Series. However, this decision was put on the back burner.
  • India and Australia have won the Trophy two times.
  • Chris Gayle is the top run-scorer in the Champions Trophy.
  • K.D. Mills of England is first in the wicket-takers’ list.
  • Farveez Maharoof of Sri Lanka has the best Bowling figure in Champions Trophy – 6/14 in 9 overs.
  • Nathan Astle of New Zealand is the highest Individual scorer. He scored 145 runs against U.S.A.
  • Rahul Dravid and Sourav Ganguly scored six half-centuries in the Champions Trophy.
  • First match 2017 Champions Trophy is between England and Bangladesh.
  • India's first match is against Pakistan.
  • The final of Champions trophy is to be held at Oval in England on June 18.
  • In 2021, ICC Champions Trophy will be held in India.