Premier Badminton league announces Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai, Hyderabad Franchisees, auction on Dec 7

New Delhi: With the Premier Badminton League all set to conduct its auction on December 7 at Hotel Grand, Vasant Kunj, the League on Sunday announced its Mumbai, Chennai, Bangalore and Hyderabad franchisees. 

With Mumbai taken by Devyani Leisures Pvt. Ltd., the Chennai team was picked by The Wones Pvt. Ltd., Bangalore team will be owned by BrandPrix Consulting Pvt. Ltd. and Agile Security Force Pvt. Ltd. will be the proud owners of Hyderabad team. The League had earlier announced the Lucknow and Delhi franchisees who are owned by Sahara India and Infinite Computer Solutions respectively.

While Mumbai team has been christened as Mumbai Rockets, Lucknow will be known as Awadh Warriors, Delhi coined as Delhi Acers, Chennai named Chennai Smashers, Bengaluru titled Bengaluru Top Guns and Hyderabad tagged as Hyderabad Hunters, all teams will vie for the PBL title the coming season. For tomorrow auctions each will be looking at bidding for their choice of players, thereby ensuring that they have a complete team in place for the upcoming League all scheduled to kickstart on 2 January 2016.

Speaking on the announcement Dr. Akhilesh Das Gupta, Badminton Association of India President & PBL Chairman said “I welcome all franchisees on board the Premier Badminton League. I am sure they with us will make the upcoming edition a huge success and a name to reckon with. Tomorrow is a big day for each franchisee as each is gearing up for the all important auction. I wish all of them good luck and hope we all together create a successful Premier Badminton League 2016”.

For badminton and sports lovers, the auction feed will be live on, and

The Premier Badminton League will have total 18 matches, which include 15 ties with five matches each followed by two Semi-Finals and one Final match, and all will be telecasted LIVE by Star Sports over 16 days. The PBL 2016 will feature six franchises and each franchise will host a two-day leg. The matches will be held during evening for the prime time television broadcast.
The top four franchises in the League will enter in the Semi-finals and the winners of the Semi-finals will meet at the Grand Final on 17th January 2016, which will be held in New Delhi.