Rio Olympics 2016 India Live: Jitu Rai qualifies for 10m Air Pistol Men's finals, ends 7th with a total score of 580/600

Jitu Rai 26India shooting caught the imagination of public with Rajya Vardhan Singh Rathore’s silver medal winning performance in Athens Olympics in 2004. Abhinav Bindra’s took Indian shooting to a new high with his gold medal winning feat in Beijing Olympics. Thereafter, Vijay Kumar won a silver medal while Gagan Narang clinched a bronze in London Olympics. Now, Indian shooters are reverred everywhere and and Rio will be no different. Catch live action of different sports in which Indians are participating today:

India’s one of the best medal hopes Jitu Rai qualifies for the 10m Air Pistol Men's finals with the final series of 98. He ends 7th with a total score of 580/600.

Manika Batra crashes out of the table tennis women's singles as she loses to her Polish opponent Grzybowska-Franc Katarzyna 2-4.

Mouma Das eliminated in the first Round of the women's singles table tennis event as she loses to Monteiro Daniela11-2 11-7 11-7 11-3 (0-4). 

Leander Paes and Rohan Bopanna lose their doubles match to Poland's Lukasz Kubot-Marcin Matkowski in straight sets 4-6, 6-7.

India beat Ireland 3-2 in their opening hockey match

20:47 hrs: Rupinderpal Singh gives India 3-1 lead as he converst the penalty corner in the 

20:42 hrs: John Germyn converts the penalty corner as Ireland pull one back. It's 2-1 now

20:18 hrs IST: Third quarter starts

20:13 hrs IST: End of second quarter: India lead Ireland 2-0.

20:8 hrs IST: Rupinder Pal Singh puts India into commanding position by scoring a goal through a penalty corner awarded around three minutes prior to the end of the second quarter.

19:54 hrs: Raghunath puts India into lead as he converts the penalty corner awarded to India in the first quarter. India 1-0 ahead of Ireland.

Meanwhile, India’ sole rower, Dattu Bhokanal, gave his country something to cheer about as he finished third and progressed into the quarterfinals of men’s single sculls event. Bhokanal finished the 2000m race with a timing of 7:21.67s behind Angel Fournier Rodriguez, who clocked 7:06.89s and Mexico’s Juan Carlos Cabrera, clocking 7:08.27s.

India hopes now hinged on Jitu Rai and Gurpreet Singh who will be seen in action later on Saturday at the Olympic Shooting Centre.

17:53 hrs IST: Ayonika and Apurvi have fail to qualify for the finals of the women's 10m air rifle event

17:49 hrs IST: Only eight shooters will go into the finals and the Indians are far behind the required mark.

17:47 hrs IST: Apurvi and Ayonika are ranked 30th 40th at the midway through the qualifiers

17:42 hrs IST: last Series 4 remaining

17:40 hrs IST: Ayonika shot 102.5 in Series 3.

17:38 hrs IST: Apurvi has finished with a score of 103.3 in Series 3