Hockey India welcomes Hockey Coorg as latest Associate Member unit

hockey 161 100New Delhi: Hockey India, the apex body governing the sport in India, has introduced Hockey Coorg as an Associate Member unit from the state of Karnataka. The state of Karnataka will now boast of two member units, where Hockey Karnataka themselves already operate as a Permanent Member unit while the latest entrant Hockey Coorg will operate as an Associate Member unit. The newly formed Hockey Coorg, will see Mr. PE Kalaiah, spearheading the unit as the President.

Hockey India, who currently has 20 permanent member units, will have 28 associate member units with the formation of Hockey Coorg. Karnataka has traditionally been a major contributor to the sport of Hockey and Hockey Coorg’s primary functionality will be to manage the large talent pool from the Coorg region of the state that in the past has produced some great players like BP Govinda, Arjun Halappa, AB Subbaiah and MP Ganesh. A few of the current players donning the national cap from Coorg are VR Raghunath, SV Sunil, SK Utthappa, Nikin Thimmiah and Nithin Thimmaiah.

With the formation of Hockey Coorg, the region can now participate in the National Championships as a separate team, helping India unearth a larger pool of talent for the future.

Speaking on the development, Mohd. Mushtaque Ahmad, Secretary General, Hockey India said, “I am delighted to welcome Hockey Coorg as an Associate Member unit of Hockey India. The region of Coorg has always given our country some exceptional athletes in the sport of hockey, and with the formation of this new unit, I am confident that we will be moving towards a formidable talent pool who only are going to help us carry forward the legacy and honour of the sport, bringing many laurels to the country.”