Parthiv, RP, Bumrah shine in Gujarat's win against Delhi in Vijay Hazare final

cricket wickets 300Bengaluru: A scintillating century (105 off 119 balls) from skipper Parthiv Patel, followed by some fantastic bowling from RP Singh (4/42) and Jasprit Bumrah (5/28) helped Gujarat thrash former champions Delhi by 139 runs to win their maiden Vijay Hazare Trophy at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Monday.

Playing a captain’s knock Parthiv powered Gujarat to 273 for nine and later their bowlers dismissed the 2012-13 winners for 134 in 32.3 overs.

Chasing the target, Delhi started off badly as they lost Rishabh Pant off the first ball of the innings and later saw Shikhar Dhawan (5) and skipper Gautam Gambhir (9) back into the pavilion within 10 overs. Though Unmukt Chand (33) gave his team some, it was also dashed with his dismissal in the 17th over, leaving Delhi derailed at 59 for five.

Off-spinner Pawan Negi delayed the inevitable with a fighting 57 off 47 balls. 

For Gujarat, the other contributions came from Rujul Bhatt (60) and Chiragh Gandhi (44 not out).

Brief Scores:

Gujarat 273/9 in 50 overs: (Parthiv Patel 105, Rujul Bhatt 60; Pawan Negi 2/36)

Delhi 134 all out in 32.3 overs: (Pawan Negi 57; R P Singh 4/42, Jasprit Bumrah 5/28) by 139 runs.