Saina Nehwal loses in one of biggest PBL upset

Saina Nehwal Awadhe Warriors Premier Badminton LeagueHyderabad: In one of the biggest upsets of the tournament, Han Li beat India’s badminton superstar Saina Nehwal (15-8, 13-15, 15-7) in the Trump match, which helped Mumbai Rockets beat Awadhe Warriors to book their berth to final of the Premier Badminton League scheduled for January 17 in New Delhi.

The opening mixed doubles match between the Warriors -- Bodin Issara and Christinna -- against the Rockets -- Vladimir Ivanov and Kamilla Juhl -- was a nail biter as the Awadhe pair took the early lead in the first game. But the Rockets came back to take control and win the game leaving Awadhe Warriors in a shock. However the Warriors won the second game to level the match. While the Warriors initially dominated the third game by creating a five point lead, the Rockets bounced back and to take it to the decider point. Vladimir Ivaniov looking for a hard smash unfortunately hit it outside the court, giving Awadhe Warriors the first win and one point.

In the first men’s singles, S Tanongsak took on Mumbai’s HS Prannoy. While Tanangsok took the first game, the second game was convincingly won by HS Prannoy taking the match to the third game. The last game saw HS Prannoy continuing his dominance as he won the game and the match, giving his team a huge relief. This levelled the Tie at 1-1.

The men’s doubles, Rockets’ Mathias Boe and Vladimir Ivanov took on Warriors’ Bodin Issara and Cai Yun. It was the Rockets pair which won the first game. The second game saw the Warriors dominating the proceedings and finally winning the game. The third game saw Warriors’ Bodin Issara and Cai Yun in complete control for most of time, but somehow lost hold in the dying moments that cost them the match.

Leading the game 2-1, Mumbai Rockets from here aimed at winning the next game and which was the Trump match of Awadhe Warriors. Saina Nehwal took on Han Li. But much to the disappointment of Awadhe Warriors, Saina Nehwal lost the match and Mumbai Rockets made it to the final of Premier Badminton League. They will be take on Delhi Acers on January 17.

Mumbai Rocket won the Tie today 3-0.


Mumbai Rockets bt Awadhe Warriors 3-0 (points)

Bodin Issara/Christinna Pedersen (AW) bt Kamilla Juhl/Vladimir Ivanov (MR)
12-15, 15-13, 15-14

H.S. Prannoy (MR) bt Tanongsak S (AW)
12-15, 15-7, 15-9

Mathias Boe/Vladimir Ivanov (MR) bt Bodin Issara/Cai Yun (AW)
15-10, 12-15, 15-13

PV Sindhu (CS) bt PC Thulasi (DA)

15-6, 15-7

Han Li (MR) bt Saina Nehwal (AW)

15-08, 13-15, 15-7

Fastest Smash of the Day (Male) – Tanongsak S and Bodin Issara (AW) 407 KMPH

Fastest Smash of the Day (Female) – Saina Nehwal (AW) 311 KMPH

Longest Rally of the Day – Mathias Boe and Vladimir Ivanov (MR) 35 shots

Most Valuable Player – Han Li (MR)

Final clash

Jan 17, 2016: Delhi Acers vs Mumbai Rockets (New Delhi)