Virat Kohli’s 133 rivals Vivian Richards’ 189, says Dean Jones

Former Australian batsman Dean Jones says Virat Kohli’s 86-ball 133 in a Tri-series match against Sri Lanka was one of the “greatest” ODI knocks. “Kohli’s innings is up there with one of the greatest ODI knocks of all time. Kohli’s innings rates up there with Viv Richards’ epic knock against England in 1984. Young charges such as Kohli showed the way. Kohli should be No. 3 in India's one-day team but not for Tests ,” Jones wrote in the S y d n e y M o r n i n g H e r a l d.

Meanwhile, Former Australian batsman Dav Whatmore, who guided Sri Lanka to World Cup glory, arrived in Pakistan to sign a contract to become Pakistan's new cricket coach, an official said Friday. The 57-year-old Whatmore, who played seven Tests and one ODI for Australia, coached Sri Lanka to the World Cup title in 1996 and also helped Bangladesh reach the second round in the 2007 World Cup in the Caribbean.

According to newspaper reports, former West Indies captain Chris Gayle was again overlooked by the West Indies when a 30-man training squad for the forthcoming one-day and Twenty20 series against Australia was announced. Gayle hasn't played for the West Indies since last year's World Cup and has been involved in a long-running dispute with the West Indies board.

Meanwhile New Zealand dropped troubled Ryder for Test. Jesse Ryder was dropped Friday from the squad for the first Test against South Africa but selectors said the move was due to form, and not his latest drinking bout.

And in the meantime, the inquiry into the financial affairs of Cricket South Africa (CSA) has been finalised and details will be made public on March 8 by Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula.

Coming to domestic cricket, Mumbai have included Rohit Sharma in their One-day squad for the Vijay Hazare Trophy All India knockout rounds, to be held in Delhi from March 6-12. The squad: Ajit Agarkar (capt.), Ajinkya Rahane (vice capt.), Wasim Jaffer, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Abhishek Nayar, Aditya Tare, Iqbal Abdulla, Shoaib Shaikh, Ankit Chavan, Sushant Marathe, Kshemal Waingankar, Anup Revandkar, Javed Khan. Coach: Sulakshan Kulkarni.