10Cric IPL

Indian bowlers help win India the decider; clinch the series 2-1

In a rain affected T20 series decider at Thiruvananthapuram, India’s discipline bowling and superb fielding effort won them the match and the series 2-1. Earlier the match was reduced to 8 overs per side because of rain. New Zealand after having won the toss had elected to bowl first. On a pitch that gripped and turned, India manage to put on 67/5 after 8 overs which wasn’t a match winning total but proved to be enough in the end, courtesy a fine display of bowling and fielding by the Indian side.

india vs new zealand decider trophyChasing 68, New Zealand lost their way early in the innings with Colin Munro and Martin Guptill being dismissed within the span of first 7 deliveries. However, they kept themselves alive in the match by scoring a flurry of boundaries and a few sixes. When it mattered the most though, Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal held their nerves and bowled outstanding spells to turn the game on its head. Both Bumrah and Chahal together bowled 4 overs out of the 8, gave away just 17 runs for 2 wickets.Bumrah was adjudged the man of the match as well man of the series for his brilliant performance throughout the series.

India’s next assignment will be a 3 Test series against Sri Lanka starting 16th November, the first of which will be played at the iconic Eden Gardens, Kolkata.